you're reading...

Kreativ Blogger Award

I was informed today that my blog was one of many to receive the Kreativ Blogger Award. I have to admit, I was extremely excited, and the teeniest bit proud of myself, when I received the news. Therefore, I would like to take this opportunity to thank Cecile’s writers for passing this award on to me.

Four very unique individuals form the Cecile’s writers group: Cecile, Samir, Sofia and Vanessa. They are a group of English language writers with a goal of starting up a literary magazine – Cecile’s Writer’s Magazine. Their blog consists of their own personal stories encompassing their joys, struggles, experiences, thoughts and musings. They are sure to keep you entertained and interested, so I definitely recommend you visit their blog.

Now, as is the tradition of the Kreativ Blogger Award, I have been asked to mention ten things you may (or may not) know about me. Here goes:

  1. I am of Palestinian origin, born and raised in Abu Dhabi, UAE – with a UAE nationality.
  2. I am Queen of Procrastination.
  3. Chocolate’s my guilty pleasure (Nutella especially)
  4. I have unhealthy eating habits.
  5. I can salsa dance – approximately five years now.
  6. I have a terrible singing voice. I only sing when I know I can’t be heard (i.e. alone or when the music’s playing really loudly)
  7. I spend way too much time on my computer.
  8. I hate the smell of vanilla (especially perfumes, lotions etc.)
  9. I obsess with reading and books. I have over 600 books at home (a lot of them packed into boxes due to space restrictions), I keep a list of all the books I have so I can keep track of them, and I categorize them and shelf them alphabetically.
  10. And finally – I sometimes get teary-eyed when I watch people on talent shows the likes of American Idol and So You Think You Can Dance because I am at once overjoyed for them, moved by their talent and jealous of them – I know, I’m sad. Sigh.

Now that’s out of the way, I am required to pass on this award to six blogs that I feel are deserving of the title. So here it goes, and in no particular order:

  • Leaf of Light: this particular blogger is an inspiration to me as a writer. Imaginative, creative, honest, and inventive. A fantastic read every time.
  • A Palestinian Dreamer: a cause close to my heart. An inspirational and informative blog about Palestine.
  • Doctor Quack: if you like random then here’s the person for you. Posts that can revolve around anything and everything, they’ll get you laughing, cringing, ooh-ing and aah-ing.
  • Lens and Pens by Sally: they say a picture’s worth a thousand words – this blog proves it.
  • The Heart of Art: an artist’s blog for all those interested in art. You need inspiration? Visit this blog.
  • Postcard Fiction: a blogger who decided to experiment and create a spot for literary exploration in fifty words or less.

Finally, if you accept this award, please find the details below on how to proceed:

  • Display the award image on your blog.
  • Acknowledge the nominator.
  • List ten things about yourself that readers probably don’t know.
  • Pass the award along by nominating six other blogs you enjoy reading.

About smshamma

"I'm selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control, and at times hard to handle, but if you can't handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don't deserve me at my best." - Marilyn Monroe


7 thoughts on “Kreativ Blogger Award

  1. Congratulations! From what I have read of your blog, you are indeed Kreativ. I want to subscribe, but I confess I have not yet figured out the whole RSS thing…so I will follow, and subscribe when I figure it out. It seems to me, though I am not sure at all, that following and subscribing are different. Sigh…so much to learn about blogging. :)

    Posted by Jeannette Monahan | February 25, 2012, 01:31
    • Thanks so much Jeannette, that means a lot.
      And yes, there is so much to learn, I’m still trying to get the hang of it myself =) I’m not sure either if there is indeed a difference between subscribing and following. Will attempt to figure it out!

      Posted by smshamma | February 25, 2012, 10:04
  2. Reblogged this on I Got Talent.

    Posted by Mariam & Dimah | March 2, 2012, 13:06
  3. Its good as your other blog posts : D, thanks for putting up. “History is a pact between the dead, the living, and the yet unborn.” by Edmund Burke.

    Posted by Daniel Bown | March 29, 2012, 04:09


  1. Pingback: Kreativ Blogger Award « Leaf of Light - February 22, 2012

  2. Pingback: My Homepage - March 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,102 other followers



My Goodreads



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,102 other followers

