//
you're reading...
Musings

Why did the chicken cross the road?

Throughout the decades, there have been many answers to this question.

Some, perhaps, more creative than others.

A few days ago, on one of those really hot Abu Dhabi summer days; I was in the car with my dad, who was driving me home, when I was suddenly jolted out of my daydreams as he slammed on the brakes right in the middle of the road. I jumped at the impact as I heard the tires screeching to a halt.

Expecting the worst, I looked out the front windshield to see the reason for this abrupt stop. To my utter disbelief and surprise, all I saw was a chicken running with all her might across the road.

As cliché as this sounds, it was one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen.

As she was running across, trying to make it safely to the other side, I noticed my dad shaking his head with a look of pity on his face. When I asked him what was wrong, his reply was, “the poor chicken, can you imagine how her feet must be burning her from the scorching heat of the ground?!”

My first thought: “Ouch!!”

My second: “Who thinks of something like that?!”

As the chicken completed her journey, I realized that I have finally discovered the correct response behind the question that has haunted many.

The answer is in fact, to get to the other side of the road.

0803732031-WhyDidChicken1int_zoom

About smshamma

"I'm selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control, and at times hard to handle, but if you can't handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don't deserve me at my best." - Marilyn Monroe

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Why did the chicken cross the road?

  1. Maybe it’s a matter of prospective, but I have always wondered who was chasing the chicken in the first place to force her to cross the road.

    Posted by msalahdin | July 10, 2013, 04:23
  2. Chicken is probably thinking, why are humans so dumb to build something like this :).

    Posted by VJ | July 27, 2013, 14:39

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,100 other followers

Archives

Categories

My Goodreads

Tweet-o-meter

  • Husband: When will you be home? Me: I'll leave the office in a little over an hour. Husband: OK baby, I can't wait to see you. #truelove 19 hours ago
  • RT @KhalidAlAmeri: Please join for my talk on the challenges of a successful marriage. #UAE Twitter: bit.ly/VyoMcl Facebook: http:… 1 week ago
  • I scoff. I looked anything but. "We've only been married 6 months" he continues, "but I can't imagine my life without you in it" #truelove 2 weeks ago
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,100 other followers

