//
you're reading...
Musings, Weight Loss

Fastest Way to Lose Weight

This is not a fluke. I actually discovered the fastest way to weight loss.

No, I am not kidding you. The information you will find in this post is all very factual, and has been proven true and effective.

Dear readers, the fastest way to losing all that weight you’ve been wanting and trying to lose for years is…STRESS.MjAxMy1lZThiNTZkNDNjZDQxNjVl

One word. Six letters. And yet the effect it has can be destructive.

The past two months have been the hardest I’ve ever been through. I will not go into the details of what has been going on in my life, but it has been enough to make me lose a total of 6kgs (that’s approximately 13lbs). I started out this year weighing about 59kgs, and now I weigh – that’s right, you maths dorks – 53kgs. The last time I’ve even seen this number, let alone had it associated with me, was back in 7th grade. 7th grade!!!!!

Those who know me will know that I’ve always taken care of myself, I’ve had my weight go up and down throughout the years, but I never let it get out of hand. I absolutely hate going to the gym, but back in Leeds, during those long winter months when you find yourself stuck indoors for long periods of time doing nothing but eating (to keep warm of course), I decided I needed to do something about all this inactivity. So I joined a gym. Having paid the fees, I felt obligated to put my membership to good use. I knew I hated working out on my own, so my only option were those fitness classes people go to. At first, I was very self-conscious about working out in front of people, but eventually I got so into it that I would go to 2-3 classes a day! I became such a regular at the gym, that I started taking my laptop and books with me so I can get some work done in between. When I left Leeds and came home, I found a gym that offered all these classes and continued the ritual.

When I started working, it became harder, but I continued going in the evenings. If I don’t go to the gym, I work out at home, or I put some music on and dance my ass off. So, basically, I always find a way to stay active. With all of that said and done, my weight has never wavered from 57-59kgs, no matter how much I tried (and I did try), I never succeeded in reaching that number I’ve always wanted to reach.

I thought I knew what stress felt like, but boy was I wrong. The past couple of months I have been put through the wringer. While some people gain weight due to stress, I found that it had the complete opposite effect on me. Serious ongoing stress leads to anxiety, which in turn lead to extreme loss of appetite and a feeling of fullness soon after I begin to eat. At times I would completely forget to eat, not because I wanted to starve myself, but because in comparison to the other events in my life, food wasn’t a priority anymore.

I read somewhere that when one is anxious, stressed or depressed (in my case, all of the above), your body releases this hormone that drastically increases your metabolism and causes you to lose unintentional weight. There’s a scientific explanation to all of this of course, something about your heart rate speeding up, etc. but I won’t go into that. Therefore, what little food you do consume, is quickly digested due to that increase in metabolism leaving you with absolutely no energy, feeling completely drained and down.

I don’t even think about food anymore. I don’t get any cravings, which is actually very sad when you think about it. I’ve had times where people have had to come to me and remind me to eat something. I have to force myself to eat just so I don’t starve to death. My sisters have made it a habit to put three or four small bottles of water on my bedside table to keep me hydrated.

Family and friends would not stop remarking on how thin I’ve become, saying it like it’s a negative thing. I mean, obviously under the circumstances, I realize the calamities of losing weight this fast. However, technically speaking, my weight is now ideal.

I found that if I focus my energy (what little I have of it) on a specific project, I felt so much better. It was the only way that I could take my mind off all the rubbish in my life right now. I could just shut it all out and direct my attention to that project. Hence, my newfound obsession with jigsaw puzzles. Since this sad chapter of my life has started, I must’ve completed about seven puzzles (all over 1000 pieces). My family is a little unnerved by this new activity, but have been supportive at the same time. Sitting down for hours at a time putting together those small pieces of puzzle to form a larger, complete, picture relaxes me. It puts my mind at ease. That I can fix something, and see the end result, and have it framed and looking pretty calms me down. It hasn’t fixed my weight or appetite loss. In fact, I find it even harder to remember to eat when I’m in my one of my puzzle dazes, but it does succeed in taking my mind off things.

Weight loss is generally seen as a good thing. If done right, of course. But, I will tell you this. Stress will do it for sure, and I’ve never seen or experienced faster results than I have in just 8 weeks. Mainly because of disinterest in food. You feel like you are genuinely not hungry, and eat a lot less than you need to. In fact, you may not even realize how little you’re eating, but in actuality you are starving yourself. And even when you do eat really well, you find you’re still shedding pounds, and that is because stress catapults your metabolism! Basically, your body is working overtime to keep up with your emotions.

Ahh, the bittersweet irony.

Emotionally, mentally and every other “-ally”, I am a complete and utter mess. Physically, I feel great, and I have finally lost all that weight I’ve been wanting to lose. Stress did what no diet was able to, eating at my insides until there was near nothing left.

It’s a shame it had to happen this way, but I’m telling you, I’ve finally found the fastest way to lose weight, and I thought it was worth sharing with all of you.

About smshamma

"I'm selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control, and at times hard to handle, but if you can't handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don't deserve me at my best." - Marilyn Monroe

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Fastest Way to Lose Weight

  1. Dear Suad, your recent post arrived and I read it after returning home late last night. By the time you come across these words I suppose you will have already heard a great many thoughts from those trying to help you through your troubles. Your thoughts flow as if they were your very own pulse. That is what allows me to find the words that I hope can bring you a little comfort. I opened my little book of quotes and found a poem that I want to share:

    Daysong flickers out.
    Hushed ones creep forward
    as earth turns over.

    Light flees as wind flies
    and night rises up to
    moisten day with shadow.

    At length night pauses,
    moon rises, laughing,
    and chases illusive dawn.

    In this time, place and circumstances you find yourself at a pause. Now be like the moon that rises, laughing and chase down the illusive dawn. There’s a little story I was told many years ago. I have never thought of it until now and it’s because I’d like to share it with you. There’s a girl age five and she doesn’t know what to do. Every night she’s afraid to go to sleep. Bear will get her. Bear comes in her sleep and chases and chases her. Each time Bear gets closer and closer as she runs, until his jaw yawns around her little head. She smells his bad bear breath and feels his spit dripping on her scalp. Waking terrified, she lies sleepless, crying and listening to her fast-thumping heartbeat. This happens night after night until she can’t stand it anymore. She prays and pray to know what to do, how to get rid of Bear. She has an idea. In her next dream about Bear she is going to turn around and holler at him to leave her alone and get out of her dreams. That very night she wakes up frightened and crying like usual. The next night Bear chases her again, and the next night too. But finally one night she remembers in her dream to stop and stare him down and she hollers at him angrily, “Get out of here, Bear, this is my dream. Go away and never come back!” She’s surprised because Bear stops and says he is her friend and to prove it he will give her a gift, he will be her helper. Then she wakes up but is not scared, she’s excited. She did it!

    Courage brings dramatic changes in one’s life. Sometimes it is necessary to let go of all that you think is safety and comfort in order for providence to move into your life. Act courageously in spite of any fear, and that is the essence of courage. To gain a little courage for your life you must act and especially so when you feel deeply afraid, stressed or depressed. It is courageous when you change a habit, take a new direction, are deeply truthful and compassionate with yourself or another, when you act true to your values. If there is any fear in your heart just believe that the fear is a flag, a gift really, showing you an area where, if you overcome it, you can gain inner strength and power. It is an emptiness we seem compelled to fill, willing to pay any price for a fleeting glimpse of security along our barren shorelines. Sometimes fear comes to us as a longing, a yearning to be full. And this is purposeful and good. We should let it be, to irritate and discomfit. Try not to hurry to fill it with a lover, an addiction, an entertainment, or project; try to pause and the fear will lead you to act courageously. All of us lose focus and energy to every area of fear and pain that we give ourselves to. Bring yourself to find an act of courage to get back on your feet, to take charge of your health, and begin to follow the voice of your soul rather than outside advice. It will help you to move beyond any and all of your fears and become free from them. Your courage will grow, your mind, body and soul will find their discipline and strength, a pride and self-trust that will serve forever your dreams.

    The universe teaches us lessons, some that are much harder than others to take, but it is constantly saying yes to us. The universe only says yes. It is our task to discover what within us it is saying yes to. I would like to hope that this moment in time you are being called on to be an architect of your future, not its victim. I am just a reader of your words but I can tell you this much is profoundly true: you have intrinsic goodness; you are whole and complete just as you are; you have the potential of our divine heritage; you cannot be separated from our divine Source. Don’t let anyone convince you that you are not lovable. You are loved beyond your ability to comprehend it. Love is not outside of you. Love is not mother or father or lover. Love is not family or community. Love, in truth, simply is. Love is the essence of this gift of life that surrounds you; it is what allows everything to have cohesion. Love is both your birthright and your legacy; it is in the original blueprint of your soul.

    You write that your sisters and family look after you and try to pull you out of your dazes. You are truly a wealthy woman because you have your sisters and family to look out for you. They pluck you up when you are down and in your most dire need they will be at your side. There are people like me who don’t have that wealth. So please be kind to yourself because you are a child of God. Those who love and look after you are the other pearls on a string that is your gift of life. You are their pearl in the center. Without you those pearls on either side of you will never be complete. Know that you are more than the things that happen to you. Always make space for magic to happen. “It’s a magical world, Hobbes, ol’ buddy … let’s go exploring!” comes from that lovely comic Calvin and Hobbes.

    P.S. Words may not be much so I took the liberty of doing something I have never done. I called a circle of close friends living near and far and told them that a woman named Suad Shamma was experiencing great difficulty in her life. I asked if they would find it in their hearts to offer a heartfelt prayer for you by name. They all agreed and and I hope that their special prayer for you might bring some strength, warmth and compassion to help you heal and recover. It’s not much but it’s all I can think to offer. I thought seeing their names and where they are in the world would be good for you:

    1. Justine Shapiro, U.S.A.
    2. Pamela Smith, U.S.A.
    3. Yanumar Noer, Indonesia
    4. Grace Valentine, Indonesia
    5. Farhad Azizi, Afghanistan
    6. Kamlah Milad, U.S.A.
    7. Enam Al Hanach, South Korea
    8. Shereen Noorizan, Malaysia
    9. Ismail Fahmi, U.S.A.
    10. Meredith Cox, U.S.A.
    11. Afaf Salem, U.A.E.
    12. Faten Saleh, U.A.E.
    13. Mohammed Al Mazrouei, U.A.E.
    14. Rinad Khudair, Bahrain
    15. Nancy Eggen, U.S.A.

    Posted by Ballad | March 12, 2013, 14:44
    • This is absolutely beautiful and very inspiring. Thank you once again Ballad. I seem to be able to do nothing more than to say thank you :)

      Posted by smshamma | March 17, 2013, 15:02
      • i have to thank you suad. it’s a comfort to know these thoughts made sense and meant something good to you. that is more that I can ask for … i was listening to the beatles today and it reminded me they’re your all time favorite group. i use to sing and perform on talent shows and there was a rock n roll song i would do that became a favorite with audiences. it just was one of those that would open up and sort of let the time in. the last time i performed it was when i was 25 years old. some songs you keep in your heart because it’s surprising how clearly they tell you about what you want. songs like these give shape to the questions you always ask yourself and the answers you hope to find. this song had always seemed to be about a guy and girl that wanted to run and keep on running and never look back. and that was a nice and romantic idea. but one night while performing i realized that after they got into their car these two were going to have to figure out someplace real to go. and i realized that at the end you know individual freedom, search or longing when it’s not connected to some sort of community or friends or the world outside begins to feel pretty meaningless. so i guess that guy and girl were out there looking for connection. and i guess that’s what i was doing during those performances and whenever i write. the song was about two people trying to find their way home. so i thank you that your posts help me to share what’s inside and help me to find my way home to untouched or forgotten memories. songs keep me good company on my search and i hope they keep you good company on yours. this final part of the song always seemed to the favorite for audiences because they would cheer and applaud:

        the highway’s jammed with broken heroes on a last chance power drive,
        everybody is out on the run tonight,
        but there’s no place left to hide,
        together wendy we can live with the sadness,
        i’ll love you with all the madness in my soul,
        someday girl I don’t know when,
        we’re gonna get to that place where we really wanna go,
        and we’ll walk in the sun,
        but till then tramps like us baby we were born to run.

        Posted by Ballad | March 30, 2013, 01:21
  2. I hope everything is allright now. great post

    Posted by AH | March 13, 2013, 21:17

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,100 other followers

Archives

Categories

My Goodreads

Tweet-o-meter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,100 other followers

