//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

“I have no children. You are my children.”

A conversation with a friend today really resonated with me. She said, “Death is invisible in big cities.”

She then went on to describe how life was like when she lived in a small village in Cyprus. When someone died, the whole village knew that person, and they all attended the funeral to pay their respects. If a death occurred in a neighbouring village, they would hear about it too. In big cities, death has little impact on people, unless it directly involves them or someone they know. You hear about people dying everyday, you read about them in newspapers, you listen to the news and you feel a tinge of sadness, before it quickly goes away.

The American University of Sharjah regrets to announce the passing of Dr. Ibrahim Sadek, Associate Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and Professor of Maths, due to a heart attack. He will be greatly missed.

The news came as a shock to me.

Yes, I realize death is a natural part of life, but it still affected me. Sometimes, when a person becomes such an integral part of a place, you forget that they are also susceptible to death. You forget that their time is temporary. And so when they leave us, the impact is that much greater.

What makes him a remarkable man is the way he has touched every individual at the university on a personal level. He had the uncanny ability to remember our names amongst the hundreds of other students that he met everyday. He always had a bright smile on his face as he sat in his office for hours, while hundreds of students lined up at his door to seek guidance and solutions to their problems. When we had no hope of ever getting into a class, Dr. Sadek would magically click a few keys on his computer and just like that, our problems would dissolve. The going phrase was, “Go to Ibrahim Sadek, he’ll sort you out,” and students went to him knowing that everything would be okay in the end. His compassion was infinite, and with every encounter, he could make you feel like you were one of his favorite people in the world.

United Arab Emirates trends at around 14.00

United Arab Emirates trends at around 14.00 – Dr. Ibrahim Sadek tops the list as all that knew him remember him.

Today, thousands of AUS Alumni and students lost a father figure, and throughout the day, they all rose to the occasion as they paid their respects through social media channels. At around 14.00 hours, UAE time, Dr. Ibrahim Sadek was trending on Twitter, proving what a wonderful human being he was. That is the kind of person we should all aspire to become. It is what I one day hope to achieve when I am gone from this world.

You need moments like these to bring you back to reality. To wake you up from your reverie. We need an occasion on which one is reminded of the state of things in the real world. We are so caught up with our lives and all the trivial nonsense that we forget what’s happening around us, we forget about our own mortality. We forget that, when all is said and done, life is temporary.

We must also learn from our experiences and from our losses, and remember all the good that he taught us. We have very few inspirational figures in this day and age, but Dr. Ibrahim Sadek is definitely an inspiration to all that knew him. The love people have for him is the strongest testament of how good of a man he was.

The world lost a gem of a person today, the least we can do is pray two rounds of prayers (raka’ah) and recite Qur’an for him. Everything belongs to Allah and must return to Him – إنا لله و إنا إليه راجعون

And now, I will leave you with a clip (skip to minute 6:03) to better portray the love of the students for this man.

 

The funeral prayer will be held at Al Sahabah Mosque in Halwan Area, Sharjah, tomorrow at noon after the Duhur prayer. Condolences will be accepted in the main building at the AUS campus, from 16.00-21.00 on Monday, 2nd July, 2012 and from 9.00-21.00 on Tuesday, 3rd July, 2012.

About smshamma

"I'm selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control, and at times hard to handle, but if you can't handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don't deserve me at my best." - Marilyn Monroe

Discussion

14 thoughts on ““I have no children. You are my children.”

  1. His compassion was limitless and he knew precisely how to make you feel comfortable and set your mind at ease. His smiles and kindness always made him feel like a friend. He waved and greeted you regardless of who you were and how well he knew you. Dr. Ibrahim Sadek was a man of infinite consideration and affection. He left a place that will have a hard time finding itself without him. إنا لله و إنا إليه راجعون

    Posted by farahshamma | July 1, 2012, 21:59
  2. It’s so easy to forget our own mortality, yet we’re the only animals on earth who know that one day we shall be no more. Ironically, I think it’s designed that way to keep us going, only I really think that we should remind ourselves on a daily basis how temporary we are. That thought alone motivates me to become the person I want to be, as tomorrow may never come. Hugs – I know how hard it is to lose someone you loved or admired. x

    Posted by Andrea Anastasiou | July 1, 2012, 22:10
  3. Sorry to hear about the loss of your Professor, Suad.

    Posted by VJ | July 1, 2012, 22:16
  4. Dr.Ibrahim Sadek was one of the sweetest professors ever. No matter how tired he was, he always welcomed EVERY student with a smile and patiently listened to all our problems. And with a few calls, he would solve it in no time. Everyone was familiar with the phrase “Go to Dr.Sadek, he sort it out for you” especially during registration when everything was a chaos. I was supposed to take a course with him this summer but since its full, I thought ill wait till next summer when he offers it again. He will always be remembered. Dr.Sadek, we all love you.

    Posted by Ruveetha Pereira | July 1, 2012, 22:59
  5. He was truly someone that I admired…it saddens me to even think of him in the past tense…the news was devastating despite the fact that I have not seen him since I graduated I still held him with high regards. This world needs people like him so it feels natural and humane every now and then. He will truly be missed. انا لله وانا اليه راجعون ان شاء الله مثواه الجنة
    I hope he gets a huge turnout tomorrow and the day after…that is the least we can do besides prayer.

    Posted by Tarik | July 1, 2012, 23:45
  6. One nice memory I had with Dr. Ibrahim :

    One of the times he helped me with registration ..
    I was so desperate ..
    I’m like ” yallaa inshalla imno2af la wledak mitil ma w2ftelna ” translated : ” we will be there for you children the way you were there for us ”

    He replied by : ” I have no children .. You are my children ”

    O na7na emned3ellaak allaah yer7amak o yej3al mathwek el janne .. Ameen ya rab !

    This news came to me as a shock .. I literally cried infront of my boss @ work …

    May he rest in peace and be in a better place

    Posted by Mona Kurdi | July 2, 2012, 06:57
  7. He told me everything will be okay.

    Posted by piaspurpose | July 2, 2012, 09:54
  8. He always had a smile on his face. Every time I saw him on campus he always smiled and greeted me along with every possible AUS student. He was never turned me down and always attended to the students requests. No words can describe how helpful and compassionate he was and truly a calm end to a fruitful life he led.

    Posted by Mohammed Arafat | July 2, 2012, 09:55
  9. Having people like Dr. Ibrahim Sadek in this world … is a living proof that life isn’t bad at all … and that if you give … you will definately take in return … maybe not right away … maybe not during your lifetime … but you will definately have your payback … because this is what humanity is about … this is what people with transparent souls are all about … this is what happens when you give people the benefit of the doubt … and don’t judge …
    He indeed taught us lots of things … indirectly … through his morals and sweet soul … God bless you Dr. Ibrahim wherever you are right now … you will have our love and respect as well as prayers as long as we live … coz you were a tutor … a friend … and definately a father by all means.

    Posted by Nour Ghadri | July 2, 2012, 10:51
  10. Dr. Ibrahim Sadek was the only professor who made me feel like I was important and that my problems were his problems. I remember walking beside him on campus in such a comfortable, casual way that one of the other students actually asked me if he was my father. I can say now he was a father figure to me and all the other students at AUS. Whether he remembered me or not, i’m not sure but he always seemed so friendly and approachable that I had to say hello to him whenever I saw him at Mirdiff City center. Allahi yerhamu, he is truly missed.

    Posted by Lena | July 2, 2012, 13:00
  11. Doctor Ibrahim…My heart is sobbing…I will miss you greatly. May Your Soul Rest in Peace…may you go directly to Jannah.

    Posted by Mona Al-Assaad | July 2, 2012, 13:00
  12. Reblogged this on An Egyptian Rhapsody .

    Posted by adhamaladdin | July 2, 2012, 17:03
  13. Life is nothing but a transit. I’m sorry for the loss of who seems to be an honorable man. We need more inspirational people like him around. Allah yer7amo w yer7amna jamee3an. Amen.

    Posted by eyeonit | July 3, 2012, 19:18
  14. Great article. Wish I knew him.

    Posted by Edite | July 9, 2012, 19:39

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,101 other followers

Archives

Categories

My Goodreads

Tweet-o-meter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,101 other followers

